LEEP - Laboratório de Ecologia e Evolução de Plantas Universidade Federal de Viçosa


XX IBC in Rio de Janeiro, July 23th-29th, 2023

published in

XX International Botanical Congress - IBC 2023 — Rio de Janeiro, Brazil


The XX IBC Organizing Committee invites you to attend the 2023 XX IBC in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The Botanical Society of Brazil - SBB is leading the XX IBC Organizing Committee. The SBB has a long tradition within the Brazilian scientific community and is collaborating with the Brazilian Mycological Society, the Brazilian Ecological Society and the Brazilian Society of Plant Physiology, as well as with the Latin American and the international botanical communities, in hosting the XX IBC. Brazilian botanical congresses have been experiencing increased public attendance over the last several years, and this year should be no exception, with the glimmering coast and forested mountains of Rio providing a synthesis of magnificent Neotropical biodiversity.

Neotropical botanical diversity is represented by the symbol of the XX IBC — Victoria amazonica, an aquatic plant that represents the iconic Amazonian biodiversity shared with many neighboring countries. That plant has enormous, round floating leaves with a remarkable net of convergent veins meeting in the middle of the blade, representing the botanists meeting at the IBC in the tropics. According to a local legend, the nocturnal white flower of this plant is a dead virgin coming back after death, who died seeking the moonlight reflected on the water. The white flower transforms into magenta after dawn, which represents human fragility in a changing world.

The program of the XX IBC aims to encompass symposia that develop botanical thinking. Given the Neotropical nature of Brazil, we want offer symposia that explore this megadiverse biogeographic zone in relation to biodiversity, evolution, paleobotany and global change, involving diverse taxa, including algae, lichens, moss, fungi, lycophytes, monilophytes and seed plants. Among other symposia to be proposed by the international botanical community, the XX IBC will include symposia addressing the following subjects:


1. Neotropical vegetation

2. Tropical forests

3. Neotropical Paleobotany

4. Biogeography and evolution of bryophytes

5. Systematics and plant diversity

6. Threatened plant diversity

7. Fungal diversity

8. Aquatic fungi

9. Phylogenetics and Evolution

10. Phylogenetic ecology

11. Ecology and conservation

12. Restoration ecology

13. Ecology of tropical bryophytes

14. Fungi-plant interactions

15. Climate change

16. Plant invasions

17. Habitat fragmentation

18. Plants living in deserts and in desertified areas

19. Physiology and ecophysiology of plants

20. Genomics and bioinformatics

21. Structure and morphology

22. Cytological botany

23. Wood anatomy

24. Evolutionary developmental biology - EvoDevo

25. Ethnobotany

26. Agriculture and society

27. Botany in the age of communication

28. Teaching botany

29. Being a botanist

30. New methods on botany

31. Studies on microgametophytes and megagametophytes

32. Forensic botany

33. Botanical information without borders

34. New edible plants in a starving world


The Botanical Society of Brazil (SBB) introduces the XX IBC Organizing Committee, which comprises members from an array of botanical areas and from diverse Brazilian regions:


·      Renata Maria Strozi Alves Meira, Universidade Federal de Viçosa, Minas Gerais;

·      Ariane Luna Peixoto, Instituto de Pesquisas Jardim Botânico do Rio de Janeiro , Rio de Janeiro;

·      Marcus Alberto Nadruz Coelho, Instituto de Pesquisas Jardim Botânico do Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro;

·      Andréa Pereira Luizi Ponzo, Universidade Federal de Juiz de Fora, Minas Gerais;

·      Vânia Gonçalves Lourenço Esteves, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro;

·      João Augusto Alves Meira Neto, Brazilian Ecological Society Member, Universidade Federal de Viçosa, Minas Gerais;

·      Micheline Carvalho Silva, Universidade de Brasília, Distrito Federal;

·      Paulo Eduardo Aguiar Saraiva Câmara, Universidade de Brasília, Distrito Federal;

·      Jorge Ernesto De Araújo Mariath, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Rio Grande do Sul;

·      Maria De Lourdes Da Costa Soares, Instituto Nacional de Pesquisas da

·      Amazônia, Amazonas;

·      Francisco De Assis Ribeiro Dos Santos, Universidade Estadual de Feira de Santana, Bahia;

·      Renata Carmo De Oliveira, Universidade Federal de Uberlândia, Minas Gerais;

·      Vera Lucia Gomes Klein, Universidade Federal de Goiás, Goiás;

·      Leonor Costa Maia, Brazilian Mycological Society Member, Departamento de Micologia, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Recife, Pernambuco;

·      Jefferson Prado, IAPT Member and Nomenclature editor of the journal Taxon, Instituto de Botânica, São Paulo, Brazil.

Files for Download